Make your own free website on
SriVaishnavam - The Philosophy !
108 Dhivya Desam - ThanjaiMaamanikkoyil

Location : Thanjavur
: NeelamegapPerumal
Thaayaar : Sengamalavalli
Theertham : Kannikapushkarni, Vennaru, Suryapushkarni

Paasuram : ThirumangaiAzhwar, NammAzhwar, BhootatAzhwar
Vimaanam : Soundarya Vimanam
Travel Base : Thanjavur

Description: This is a actually a cluster of three temples, considered to be one Dhivya Desam, sung by Thirumangaiazhwar, Bhootattazhwar and Nammazhwar. Nammazhwar refers to Manikkunram, while Bhootattazhwar refers to Thanjai. Thirumangaiazhwar refers to Thanjai Maamanaikkoyil, and Manikunram. These temples are located in the outskirts of Thanjavur (the ancient Chola capital - known for its architectural masterpiece - The Brihadeeswarar Temple) in a suburb by name Vennatrankarai.

Legend has it that Vishnu took the Narasimha Avataram to vanquish a demon elephant by name Tanjakan; upon his request, Vishnu took abode here, in this sthalam that came to be known as Thanjavur.

The first of the three temples, the Maamanikkoyil enshrines Neelamegapperumaal in a sitting posture facing east, and his consort is Senkamalavalli. Parasarar is said to have worshipped here. Also here are shrines to Lakshmi Narasimhar and Lakshmi Hayagrivar. There is also a beautiful image of Nartana Krishnar here.

The second temple is known as Manikkunram. Manikkunrapperumaal is enshrined here in a seated posture, facing east. His consort is Ambujavalli. The theertham here is the Rama theertham and the vimanam Manikkoota Vimanam. Markandeya is believed to have worshipped here.

The third temple is Thanjaiyali nagar, enshrining a seated image of Narasimhar whose consort is Thanjai Nayaki. The theertham here is Surya Pushkarini, and the vimanam Vedasundara Vimanam. Markandeyar is believed to have worshipped here. The Utsavar in all of these temples is known as Narayanan.

The temples date back to the period of the Nayakas of Madurai. The Veda Sundara Vimanam above the Veerasinga Perumaal shrine is of great beauty. The Tanjavur palace administers these temples.