Make your own free website on
SriVaishnavam - The Philosophy !
108 Dhivya Desam - Thirupparameswara Vinnagaram

Location :  Kancheepuram  

Perumaal :  Vaikuntha Naathan

Thaayaar :  Vaikuntha Valli

Paasuram  : ThirumangaiAzhwar

Vimaanam : Mukunda Vimanam

Travel Base : Chennai, Kancheepuram


Description: This Dhivya Desam is the celebrated Vaikuntha Perumaal Temple, built by the Pallava Emperors who also built the Kailasanathar Temple at Kancheepuram.


Deities: The Moolavar here is Vaikuntha Nathan or Paramapada Naathan in a seated posture facing west, and Thaayaar here is Vaikuntha Valli in a separate shrine.


The Temple: This Temple is regarded as a grand specimen of Pallava architecture. It has a  three layered Ashtanga Vimanam. The lowermost level enshrines the seated image of Perumaal, while the ones above enshrine Perumaal in reclining and standing postures respectively. The images in the upper levels are not worshipped. (This is similar to the arrangement in the Koodalazhagar Temple at Madurai).  This Temple was constructed by Nandi Varma Pallavan II (717-779 CE) and it covers an area of about 3 acres. This is an ancient Pallava Temple; the monolithic pillars in the inner prakaram are noteworthy.


Legend has it that the Dwarapalakas of Perumaal were reborn as the children of the king of Vidarbha - Villavan and Pallavan. These Princes, are said to have performed the Aswamedha sacrifice here, and Perumaal is said to have appeared in front of them in answer to their prayers.


Ramanujacharya and Manavaalamaamuni are said to have visited this shrine.


Festivals: Two worship services are offered each day. The annual Bhramotsavam is celebrated in the month of Vaikasi as in the Varadharajaswamy Temple , and Vaikuntha Ekadasi is celebrated in the month of Markazhi.


The Dhivya Desams revered by the Azhwars in Perumaal Kanchi are Attigiri (the vast Varadharaja Perumal Temple), Ashtabuyakaram, Thiruttankaa, Thiruvelukkai and Thiruvegkaa, while those in Shiva  Kanchi are Thiru Oorakam (Ulagalanda Perumaal Koyil) , Thiru Neeragam, Thiruppaatakam, Nilaattingal Tundam, Thirukkaaragam, Thirukkaarvaanam, Thirukkalvanur, Thiruppavalavannam and Parameswara Vinnagaram. The vast Ekambreswarar Temple(Prithvi Stalam)  revered by the Thevaram hymns, is located in Periya (Shiva) Kanchi, as are the Kamakshiamman and the Kumara Kottam Temples.